It put a smile on my heartlight. PART ONE

A look at the stuff in films or about films or because of films that make me happy.  FilmFella Jim.

So I’m having a look at films a lot more closely as a result of this site and my involvement with it.  I don’t post much or write much at the moment because, well, as Will Smith (personal hero despite Scientology) said when he played the part of Christopher Gardner in the Pursuit of Happyness, “My Circumstances have changed some.”

I don’t doubt that many of you readers can identify with this, our circumstances change, we adapt, but when we experience change I have found that you end up learning more.  The Hagakure says “Change is necessary in all things” and till now I have never really understood what that meant.

I am an over-analytical bastard because I pride myself on the formulation of my opinion, accuracy is key.  I like the facts.  I also like it simple though, I engage with my environment and on my own terms because I like to take the time to just take my time and as a result of this I watch a film with the intent to find something I like.  This is because I love film.  I do not love Twilight as my top ten things about film I don’t like, will emphasise.  Anyway, here are my top ten things that make me love film.  Feel free to post your thoughts if you want to.

10.             Good Night and Good Luck.

I really like the end of a really good film if the ending is a good one.  Stuff like the aforementioned Pursuit of Happyness, the end of The Empire Strikes back, the end of The Usual Suspects the end of The Sting, that kind of stuff.   So it’s fitting that I put this in at number ten.

For me, the climax of a great ride, or journey if you would rather call it that, is something I relish.  I am biologically designed to enjoy a healthy climax as well, most of us are so thus I enjoy smatterings of big scores, music composed by the likes of Howard “Lord of the Rings” Shore, John Williams of Star Wars and like every Steven Spielberg film, you know, summing up music.  I like long revealing shots like in from Dusk Till Dawn and endings that fuck your whole shit up, like in Buried.

The ending though is always a double edged sword.  It can slay you with honour or just kill it, so often I get really frustrated by endings of films, but, that’s freedom man, that’s their (film-makers) freedom.

9.             Does what it says on the Tin.

Some movies are just blunt instruments designed to just do what they say they will.  I call them Nike movies.

At this portion of the blog I shall mention Mel Gibson’s Payback, “Not many people know what their life’s worth is. I do. Seventy grand. That’s what they took from me. And that’s what I was going to get back.”  The he sets about getting it back.  Fuck yeah!!!

I love Taken for the same reason, Liam Neeson’s daughter gets Taken, he goes after her.  Genius.  How about Crank?  How about Inside man?  All that kind of fare.  I find it reassuring and convenient and I love that there are films out there that aren’t up their own asses.  These such films.

 

 

 

8.             Feelings and Providings.

I love films that encourage feelings.  See my top ten list of things I hate about films to see what I mean.

I love a film with some soul.  Anchorman, The Legend of Ron Burgundy, Predator, Ghostbusters and Erin Brockovich are a few selections.

I don’t really like to talk about feelings. So here are a few quotes that got me some feelings…

“Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, Mr. Creedy, and ideas are bulletproof.” V for Vendetta.

“I subscribe to the law of contrary public opinion… If everyone thinks one thing, then I say, bet the other way.” Glengarry Glen Ross.

“You damn right it’s limited. No cup holder, no back seat. Just a shiny dick with two chairs in it. I guess we the balls just draggin’ the fuck along.” Bad Boys.

“Eeeee… va?” WALL-E.


7.            My Go-To list.

I have a list of films that, although might not necessarily be my favourite films, are films I can depend on to lift my mood or challenge me or whatever dependant on what I’m up to that night.  They are…

Nacho Libre.

Napoleon Dynamite.

First Blood.

Shanghai Noon.

Amelie.

Spider-Man.

Payback.

Ghostbusters.

Ghostbusters 2.

The Empire Strikes Back.

Ghost Dog:  The Way of the Samurai.

All of these films I can watch with ease and many, many times over.  This is my list.  There are many others like it, but this one is mine.

 

6.            Bill Murray in anything.

For me Bill Murray is the man.  I like him in everything.  Denzel Washington is another.  They never fail to deliver in their own special ways. My Dependables.  We all have an actor that we just love watching and these guys are my two favourites.

 

5.            A really good sports movie.

I really like sports, so I really like sports movies.

I always have a genre that I either consistently like to watch or one I look forward to watching.  Sports films are usually over-looked so that’s why I am gonna talk a bit about them.

Sports movies could be described as the unsung heroes of some great story-telling but very obviously for the most part through the specific plot and or nature of the films, sometimes tend to exclude portions of the general potential viewership at the box office.  Nonetheless, if you can get past the fact that they are sports films, you can really get a lot out of them.  They tend to be exciting character pieces with some kind of challenge weaved therein to overcome, so formulaic I guess sure, but still, you can get some pretty cool stuff from a sports movie.

Here are some of my choice picks for this genre.

Escape to Victory – Has really good footballers in it too, actual ones, not just ones like Fernando Torres. (For Kevin Gadd.)

Any Given Sunday – Oliver Stone does sports.  Nice.

Mean Machine/The Longest Yard – All three versions offer something different.

Invictus – Clint Eastwood and the New South Africa.

Looking for Eric – Ken Loach directs Eric Cantona in a superb film with a superb ending, proper good ending though.

Raging Bull – Scorsese and De Niro at their finest, greatest film ever to not have been given an Oscar for Best Picture.

Anyway, Part one is as part one does…Next week part two.

Yo.
[tweetmeme source=”thefilmfellas” only_single=false]

About filmfellajames
Film critic and blogger, part time rap master, loves UNITED!!!

4 Responses to It put a smile on my heartlight. PART ONE

  1. oliverconner says:

    Anything Bill Murray touches turns to gold!

  2. FilmFella Jon says:

    Sports Movies… You forgot the best of all (in my opinion) – Too good to not be mentioned!

    Coach Carter – Frickin’ love it.
    White Men Can’t Jump.
    The Blind Side – AWESOME.

    And another, but I don’t remember what it’s called now but it’s the US version of Mean Machine. With Adam Sandler.

    Love the post man… Nice work. Looking forward to part 2!

  3. Jon, The US version of Mean Machine was The Longest Yard (as Jim mentioned, you dumbass). But actually, Mean Machine is a remake of The Longest Yard.

    Sure, Bill Murray is great. But Denzel, really?! He’s the same in everything, even down to his khaki pants and Hawian shirts!

  4. Thats why I love him Lozz you doucher, I didnt call him my ‘dependable’ for nothin ya know.

    Yo to tha yo.

Leave a Reply

